The Offensive Strategy of Surrender

It is true that having a good, strong defense comes by having a strong offense. For a follower and diciple of Christ the strongest offense you could have is one of surrender. Its one of the many paradoxes that we walk in as Christians. We are strong only as we realize our weakness and surrender to God. I want to share a personal experience I had last week, with “surrender.”

Last week was challenging because there was so much going on. It was spring break and my kids were home, also my wife is a teacher so she was ready for some quality time and relaxation. I still had to prepare for worship that week. I was having some trouble concentrating with all that was happening.  So I prayed and meditated at the beginning of the week and simply asked God how He wanted to be worshiped.  In those quiet moments He kept speaking to me, the word “surrender.” It was hard to do especially when that same week my old house decided to cause additional problems for me. My thoughts were also occupied with tasks leading up to our public church launch on Easter.  The passive nature of just surrendering just didnt seem to be the answer I was looking for.

That Wednesday night, God did confirm that in the midst of all that was going on, I was to be in a place of surrender. We were invited to a local church that evening so that our home fellowship could receive prayer and be commissioned to plant a church in the surrounding community. During the service we were given a unique opportunity to bring our burdens to the cross of Christ and once again take up His yoke. The rest of the week, God continued to bring me confirmation through songs for our worship service that would ring out the theme of surrender. On Saturday, our church worship team was invited to lead worship at another local church. During practice leading up to the service, God gave me another beautiful picture of surrender as He showed me a vision of a pair of hands, full and weighed down carrying the burdens of this life. Then I saw those hands and arms being emptyied of those cares and worries, giving them over to the cross of Christ. At that point those hands were light and free, ready to reach towards heaven to offer up worship to our Heavenly Father!

Surrender is something that is easier said than done. The world we live in is full of band-aid solutions and quick easy temporary fixes.  Those kinds of choices deceive us into thinking we have real control over life. When those temporary solutions no longer hold and things begin to spin out of control, we don’t turn to surrender by the offensive definition but rather we just give up. We wave the white flag and throw in the towel. That is not the kind of surrender Christ is calling us to. Sunday evening at our home church fellowship, the prayer time was amazing and God once again confirmed what He had been speaking to me all week. In our time of prayer, silently to myself I asked God, “Ok, I surrender but now what? What am I supposed to do in that surrender?” At that very moment a prophetic word from the Lord was spoken directly to me from someone in our church family. The message was to “stand!- and raise up your shield!” Not fully knowing how to raise my metaphorical shield, I was still encouraged and overwhelmed by what was said.  As I raised my emptied, surrender hands in praise to a holy and patient all knowing God, He spoke to my heart and said, “you have just raised your shield.” Suddenly all that He was trying to teach me that week about surrender made sense and it all came full circle. Not knowing how to surrender I went to God- not knowing that in itself was surrender and my concern for all that needed to be cared for was being held in the hand of God when I emptied my hands to worship Him.

Don’t be busy trying to build up a defense to protect your perceived control over your problems. Give in to the Lords love for you today and know that He can better care for your hearts burdens if you place it in His hands. Let the God of Heaven be the guardian of your heart today!

Leave a Reply

